Refresh tea soap brand review

A couple of months ago I was very kindly contacted by the lovely Ashley at Refresh tea soap, and asked if I wanted to try some of their products. I was really excited about this brand as it not only combines my two loves (tea and skincare), but I’d also never tried soap bars that weren’t drying or made by dove. My father has recently got into using bars too so I was excited to see what I thought.

This brand is based in London, UK, & creates beauty soaps formulated with tea. They work closely with a plantation in Kenya to get the finest ingredients, and ensure they pay enough to enhance the livelihood of those working there. Their base tea is purple tea, which has high levels of antioxidants and is a variety of the tea tree plant. Sounds great for the skin and the world.

They sent me a little hamper of goodies, some of which I don’t think are available anymore which is a shame, but serves me right for taking so long to review them. I’ll discuss them briefly anyway

The first thing I tried was something I’d never seen before. It was a blend of teas, that came with a little bag, that you float in the bath. A tea bag for your bath. It blew my mind. It smelled so relaxing and fruity and really added to the experience. I’m not a big bath person but this does always help.

The next thing was the serenity soak oil melts. Now, despite these being called oil melts, I didn’t register that these were actually oils, so I put about 5 in and ended up slipping around like a stranded seal. Not pretty. Next time round I only used one and that was much better. You end up feeling lightly moisturised when you get out of the bath which for me if perfect as I hate moisturising my body. I thoroughly enjoy using these, though it might be because they remind me of the old body shop bath pearls. Need more things like this I think. It claims to help joints, but I can’t say I use them frequently enough to have any say on that.

Now, onto the product I know they still do, in some capacity. I’m not sure if they still do these exact scents or if they’ve just renamed them as I couldn’t find them on their site, but they have changed packaging so it could have been a whole brand makeover.

I was sent 2 soap bars, both of which I used. Of the two I preferred the infused youth spa bar, as the scent was a little more up my alley, and I enjoyed the slight exfoliation that came along with the bits in it. I did use both on my face, body and hair, though quickly found that I preferred different bars for different things. The infused youth I enjoyed for my body, and the treat yourself beauty bar I preferred for my hair. Both gave me that squeaky clean feel which was a little weird at first but I got used to it. My skin never felt tight after use, or my hair dry, and I was clean which is the main point.

The treat yourself beauty bar was used to clean my makeup brushes towards the end of its life and it did such a good job. Some brush cleaners that cost a small fortune are terrible, but this cleaned them without damaging the bristles or leaving a weird film on them.

Both bars, which were sample sizes so smaller than what you would buy, lasted me a good month or so each, so you get a lot for your money. Knowing that you’re supporting a smaller brand and also helping people across the world amplifies the experience also. There’s something heartwarming about using something someone’s put so much love into.

I’ve linked the products that I think are similar to the ones I’ve tried if you’re interested in trying them yourself. They also have a Sliver box where you can try them all and pick your favourites. I’m tempted to get this for my dad so he can try a whole bunch.

Similar to the treat yourself beauty bar is the Raise the bar which is made from Earle grey, with charcoal, which gently exfoliates to help leave skin nourished.

Similar to the youth infused spa bar is the Against the grain bar with spicy rooiboos which has calming antiseptic properties.

These both are body bars but they do specific bars for hair now that I’m curious about. They also do reed defusers and a bar for pets!

These products were gifted to me but I was not obligated to post about them. I thoroughly enjoyed using them and want to help support smaller businesses, and putting my experience out there could encourage others to support the business too.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, what smaller businesses do you support?

Until next time,

2 thoughts on “Refresh tea soap brand review

  1. Thank you, Em! What lovely words you share and innovative makeup brush cleaning. For now our focus is skin, hair & home bars, but the other products will return rebranded soon too. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I’m glad you like it, and that the others will return, I really loved my experience with the brand and can’t wait to invest in more (when my no buy is over, if it’s ever over) 🥰 xx

      Like

Leave a comment